N.J.’s The Kid Mero is back. ‘Desus & Mero’ gets Showtime premiere date

Fans of Desus Nice and The Kid Mero won’t have to wait much longer for the dynamic duo’s return to late night. 

Desus & Mero,” their late-night series for Showtime, will debut on Feb. 21, they announced Thursday. The half-hour series will air at 11 p.m. every Thursday.

Desus, aka Daniel Baker, and Mero, aka Joel Martinez, both hail from the Bronx and are considered MVPs of riffing, something they honed on Twitter and in their former Complex web series and podcast “Desus vs. Mero,” where they took on topics ranging from rappers and celebrities to sports, politics and the news of the day.

They previously put those skills to use in “Desus & Mero,” which was also the name of their former late-night show on Viceland, where they regularly interviewed celebrities. They now promise the big return of “the most illustrious late-night show ever in the history of mankind.” 

How The Kid Mero became one of the freshest voices in late-night TV

“What’s up, America? I’m Ray Donovan and this is my friend Billions,” Baker said in a video promo for the show, giving a nod to the cable network’s other programming. 

The nightly Viceland series that Martinez and Baker hosted starting in 2016 came to an abrupt end this past summer. They said that the network decided to let them loose before their contract was up after getting wind of their deal with Showtime. 

In October, Martinez, 35, who now lives in Fair Lawn with his wife and their four young children, spoke to NJ Advance Media about the upcoming show and Desus and Mero’s “Bodega Boys” podcast, which will continue after the series premieres this winter. (“Fat Joe the rapper told me, ‘You live in the Bronx. When you get money, you’re supposed to move to New Jersey,'” he said at the time.)

“They’re giving us the resources, they’re giving us the autonomy, they’re giving us everything that we need to make a great show and now the ball is in our court,” Martinez said in the interview. “And I like to shoot threes, so I’m going to drain it.” 

Amy Kuperinsky may be reached at akuperinsky@njadvancemedia.com. Follow her on Twitter @AmyKup or on Facebook.

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

SEE FULL STORY AT THE SOURCE

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Site Footer

Sliding Sidebar